Sausage, courgette and roasted tomato lasagne

Sausage, courgette and roasted tomato lasagne

IMAG1738_1

This is a truly delicious lasagne. So yummy. I could just go on for ages about how much I enjoyed eating this. There are still some portions in the freezer, which makes me very happy.

The roasted tomatoes take a little time but they are worth it. They add another layer of flavour. I used a mix of sausage meat – some plain, some with a little spice in them, but you can experiment with your favourite type of sausage. I also love that it included some spiralizing, with the thin courgette pieces adding a whole new layer to the lasagne.

If I’m being entirely honest… I bought the Bechamel sauce. Don’t judge me. I can make it. If you want to make your own (and you probably should) I can recommend Delia Smith’s recipe here.

IMAG1738

Ingredients (made 8 generous servings)
– 800g of whole tinned tomatoes
– 800g sausage meat (you can squeeze it out of the casing, it is oddly satisfying!)
– one small courgette
– dried pasta sheets (the number will depend on the size and shape of your dish
– 200g passata
– two small onions, chopped finely
– 4 cloves garlic, chopped finely
– 1 carrot, peeled and either chopped very small or whizzed in a food processor to get rice-like pieces (it adds a lovely sweetness to your sauce)
– 2 teaspoons dried oregano
– splash of Worcestershire sauce (not exactly traditional, but I love it)
– one beef stock cube
– 250g mozzarella
– 100g of grated cheddar/Parmesan (I used a mixture)
– 500ml Bechamel sauce

IMAG1738_1

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 190°
2. Drain the tinned tomatoes. Keep the juice and put it into a small pan. Allow to simmer on a medium heat so that it reduces.
3. Cut the tomatoes into quarters. Coat in 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Place on a baking tray, sprinkle on some salt and pepper and cook for 30-40 minutes. This should bring out an intense tomato flavour. Make sure they don’t burn!
4. Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a large saucepan. Add the onion and cook for 2 minutes, then add the garlic. Cook until softened slightly, then add the processed carrot.
5. Stir in the sausage meat and brown. Season with the Worchestershire sauce, beef stock cube and the dried oregano.
6. Pour in the passata and mix thoroughly. Season to taste and leave to simmer until the tomatoes finish cooking.
IMAG1734_17. While the sauce becomes even more delicious, prep your courgette. ” target=”_blank”>Use the ribbon setting of your spiralizer to create courgette ribbons. Use scissors to trim them into short pieces. I was meticulous for my top layer, making sure that I had single flat rounds of courgette, but I didn’t worry too much about overlapping for the lower layers. (If you don’t have a spiralizer, use a vegetable peeler to create long thin ribbons of courgette.)
8. Take the tomatoes out of the oven, chop them and add to the sauce.  Turn the oven down to 180°C.
9. Check the consistency of your sauce. If it is too thick, add some of the reduced sauce from the tomatoes to thin it out. Don’t make it too runny though, or your lasagne will collapse!
10. Assemble your lasagne! In a large, rectangular baking dish, make a layer of the sausage meat sauce. A layer of lasagne sheets goes on top (don’t overlap them). Spread a thin layer of Bechamel then a thin layer of courgette ribbons.
11. Repeat! Sausage meat sauce, pasta sheets, Bechamel, courgette. I had enough for three of each layer in the end.IMAG1735
12. On the top layer of courgettes, place slices of mozzarella cheese, then sprinkle grated cheddar and/or Parmesan over the top.
13. Bake for 45 minutes, or until the cheese on top is golden and bubbling.
14. I always leave my lasagne to stand for 5-10 minutes once I take it out of the oven. It seems to hold the shape much better than if I cut into it immediately, and the layers are less likely to collapse.

IMAG1737_1
15. I served my lasagne with a green rocket salad and some lovely French cheese puffs from Epicurious         .

Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

 

2 thoughts on “Sausage, courgette and roasted tomato lasagne

Leave a Reply

