Use up overripe tomatoes – easy tomato soup!

Easy tomato soup

Tomato soup (3)

I hate to waste food. I always plan my shopping list based on what I’m going to cook and I try to make sure I throw as little away as possible. We had been away for a few days and I came back to some tomatoes that were too ripe for salad. I wasn’t going to be cooking for two evening (birthday fun!), so tomato sauce was out. I decided to make some soup for lunch. It’s sort a combination between minestrone and tomato.

With this recipe, you can choose the texture of your soup. I wanted mine to be quite chunky, so I only blended half of it. If you would like a smoother soup, keep on blending! I’d recommend leaving some chunks though! You can tip it into a big blender like this one, or just use a handheld one.

You can make this soup vegetarian by using veg stock instead of chicken, and using a substitute hard cheese.
Tomato soup (2)Ingredients (serves 2)
– 6-7 overripe tomatoes, chopped
– 1 small onion, chopped
– 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
– 3 cloves garlic
– 500ml chicken stock
– 1 tablespoon tomato puree
– 80g short pasta strands (you can always use spaghetti and just snap it into small pieces before cooking
– handful grated Parmesan
Tomato soup (1)Method
1. Heat a small amount of oil in a large pan. Tip the chopped onions in and stir for 2 minutes. Then add the garlic and carrots. Stir, cover and cook for 4 minutes.
2. Add the tomatoes (peel, seeds and all!) and cover again. Cook for ten minutes on a medium-low heat. Stir occasionally.
3. Use a stick blender to blend the soup to your preferred consistency. I recommend leaving some chunks for texture.
4. Add the tomato puree. Pour in the stock, a little at a time. Stir it in and stop when the soup is the thickness you require.
5. Mix the pasta pieces to the soup and simmer until they are cooked through. In soup, I prefer not to have my pasta al dente, but check them until they are cooked to your liking.
6. Season to taste and serve sprinkled with Parmesan cheese and plenty of freshly milled black pepper.

Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

Tomato soup (4)

2 thoughts on “Use up overripe tomatoes – easy tomato soup!

  1. This is a perfect no waste food challenge recipe – thank you for sharing! 🙂 (could I ask you link up to the challenge page though to let more people know about it?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

