Crunchy coconut prawns – A great use for pre-cooked frozen shrimps

Crunchy coconut prawns

Coconut prawns with Thai red curry (2)
Until three years ago, I never ate fish or shellfish. I was in my late twenties before I started eating it. When I arrived in Spain, my new employers took the new staff out for a meal, and ordered a huge seafood paella. At that point I thought, “Well there’s nothing else. I’m going to have to at least try it.” And I discovered it wasn’t too bad… then I discovered I really liked it! Recently, I’ve even started eating “fishy” fish like tuna and salmon.

Prawns are one of my real favourites (although I discovered this week that you should avoid tiger prawns because farming them harms seahorse habitats). I do hate peeling them though. It is gross and time-consuming. My boyfriend is very good at doing it for me, but I only like asking him for special occasions, as it is gross and time-consuming for him too. Unfortunately in Spain, we could only buy unpeeled prawns… or pre-cooked frozen ones. They’re convenient, but tend to go mushy when you cook them.

I found a way to avoid the mushiness though! I rarely fry anything, but I made an exception and this was a great way to make the prawns juicy, crunchy and full of texture. I paired the cooked prawns with a vegetable Thai red curry and rice.

To make the curry, I cooked some vegetables in a tablespoon of red curry paste until slightly softened (I used onion, carrot and baby sweetcorn but use whatever you like) then added a tin of coconut milk and a splash of fish sauce to taste. Let it simmer gently while you cook the prawns – done!

Coconut prawns with Thai red curry (1)
Ingredients (serves 2)

– 200 grams cooked frozen prawns, defrosted
– 1 beaten egg
– 4 tablespoons desiccated coconut

Method
1. Tip the beaten egg into a shallow bowl, and the desiccated coconut into another shallow bowl. Press the defrosted prawns on both sides into the egg, then the coconut to coat them.
3. Take a large frying pan and pour a line layer of your favourite cooking oil into the pan. Heat the oil, then cook the prawns for 1-2 minutes on each side until the coconut is golden brown and the prawns are cooked through.

Coconut prawns with Thai red curry (2)

Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

Leave a Reply

