Prawns in Asian-inspired garlic sauce with zucchini noodles

Prawns in Asian-inspired garlic sauce with zucchini noodles

IMAG2607_1
I am back in England staying with my family at the moment, in between my move from Spain to Malaysia. Most of my belongings are currently being shipped across the ocean to my new home in Kuala Lumpur – fingers crossed they arrive! All of my kitchen stuff is being shipped, including my beloved spiralizer. So while I’m home, I ordered a cheaper replacement one.
Big mistake.

If you are buying a spiralizer, please do not get one of the handheld ones. You know, the small double end ones. They don’t work. You get flat noodles, it’s almost impossible not to cut your fingers and it wastes loads of the vegetable. I was not impressed. Here is a link to the Lurch one on Amazon that I recommend (along with some cheesy pictures of me using it very excitedly!).
Spiralizing (5) Spiralizing (2)
Anyway, even with the rubbish spiralizer, I managed to make some passable zoodles and put them to very good use in this easy Asian-inspired garlic prawn dish. I hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients (serves 2-3)
– 8 cloves garlic, peeled and sliced
– 300 grams raw prawns, shelled
– 2 medium zucchinis
– 1 large carrot, peeled and cut into batons
– 1 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
– 1 tablespoon rice vinegar*
– 1 tablespoon cornflour mixed with 2 tablespoons water
– 200 ml chicken stock
– 2 tablespoons light soy sauce
– sesame seeds to serve

* White wine vinegar also works as a substitute

Method
1. Spiralizer the zucchini on the wide noodle setting.
2. Heat a little oil in a wok or large frying pan. Cook the garlic slices, onion and carrot in the hot oil for 3 minutes until softened but not brown. Add the prawns and cook until they turn pink.
3. Stir in the rice vinegar, and stock, the pour in the cornflour mixture to thicken. Add the soy sauce to taste.
4. Mix in the zucchini noodles and stir together for a further minute until warmed through.
5. Serve with a tablespoon of sesame seeds sprinkled over each bowl.

IMAG2606_1
Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

Leave a Reply

