Saffron prawns – creamy mascarpone pasta with prawns in a saffron sauce

Saffron prawns – creamy mascarpone pasta with prawns in a saffron sauce

When we lived in Spain, I met the most amazing friend. Well, actually I met lots of amazing people, but this recipe post is dedicated to one person in particular. This person was always kind, always warm and always supportive. She is one of the most thoughtful and generous people I have ever met, but also one of the most fun people. She reminded me of the importance of enjoying life and of caring about people. She looked after me when I was down, was a constant cheerleader for me and even threw me a surprise birthday party with cupcake decorating.

I miss her.

A lot of our friendship and many of my favourite memories involved eating. Lots of tapas, obviously but plenty of pizzas, cakes, barbecues, curries and the occasional salad. We have had fancy meals in smart restaurants, as well as a weekly challenge to find a new cheap but delicious restaurant. We have compared the best gambas pil pil all over the Costa del Sol. I loved going to eat at hers because the food and craic were always excellent (and because she so often made food with halloumi in it). We chatted and laughed over many delicious meals and also many glasses of cava.

Once when I invited her over for a meal, she arrived with wine (of course) but also a gift of dried chilis and a packet of saffron. Not many people understand how much a gift like that excites me. She knew me well. I remember being so thrilled with my new culinary treats. The dried chilis hung in my kitchen in Spain and made me smile every time I went to the fridge… They also made my mouth burn whenever I ate them but goodness me, they were good! The saffron came with me to Malaysia and still makes me smile whenever I use it.

So this recipe is dedicated to that wonderful friend, who knows me so well and brings even more joy to my cooking. This is my little homage to you, with the saffron you brought me and the prawns from our beloved gambas pil pil.

Thank you. xxx

File_001 (1).jpeg

Ingredients (serves 2)
– 200g raw prawns, peeled and deveined
– 200g dried spaghetti/linguine/tagliatelle
– 1 white onion, peeled and finely chopped
– 3 garlic cloves, peeled and finely chopped
– 1 pinch of saffron
– 100g mascarpone

Method
1. Heat a little butter or oil in a pan and cook the chopped onions and garlic until softened. Meanwhile, cook the pasta to the instructions on the packet.
2. Add the saffron to the onions and garlic and stir together, then add the mascarpone and stir until it is all combined.
3. Add the prawns to the sauce and allow to cook through. When the prawns have turned pink and firm, stir the cooked pasta in and season with salt and freshly cracked black pepper to taste.
4. Serve right away with a side salad – rocket dressed with Parmesan and balsamic works really well.

Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

Saffron prawns 2.jpg

Leave a Reply

