Philly cheese steak quesadillas

Philly cheese steak quesadillas

Philly cheese steak quesadillas (9)

A few years ago, my friends were getting married in Boston. I took the opportunity to spend a few weeks travelling on the East coast of America and eating as much as I could! I visited Boston, New York and Philadelphia – and I loved it. I’d visited NYC and Boston before, both of which I really enjoy. It was my first time in Philadelphia and I think it ended up being my favourite part of the trip.

One of my friends was a local and he gave me sound advice about my time there. He told me where to go dancing and where to eat. He explained about Philly cheesesteaks. He filled me in on the rivalry between Pat’s and Geno’s, with all of the related importance of which cheese you asked for. Who knew it would be that complicated?! While I was there, I followed his tips and had the most amazing cheesesteak experience!

This isn’t a traditional cheesesteak by any stretch of the imagination… but I promise you it is good!

Philly cheese steak quesadillas (7)

Ingredients (serves 2)
– 200g steak strips for frying
– 1 clove of garlic, peeled and finely chopped
– white onion, peeled and sliced into half moons
– 150g mushrooms, sliced (I used shiitake for extra umami flavour)
– 2 tablespoons Worchestershire sauce
– handful of parsley leaves, roughly chopped
– 100g melted cheese (I used a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella)
– 4 flour tortillas

Methods
1. Heat a little oil or butter in a large frying pan and brown the beef strips for 1-2 minutes. You don’t have to cook it through, just brown the edges.
2. Remove the beef from the pan. Saute the garlic and onion slices until starting to soften, and then add the mushroom slices. Stir together and once the onion and mushroom is cooked, return the beef to the pan with the Worchestershire sauce. Season to taste with the salt, pepper and parsley leaves.
3. Take a clean griddle or frying pan. Place one of the tortillas on it and sprinkle over a quarter of the cheese. Top with half of the beef and onion mixture, then another quarter of the cheese. Finally, place a second tortilla on top and press down.
4. Cook until the bottom tortilla is starting to brown and the cheese is starting to melt. Carefully flip the quesadilla over – this is the tricky bit. It’s good to use a wide fish slice to support as much of the quesadilla in question. (Try not to burn your fingers!)
5. Then cook the other side until that is also browned. Keep an eye on it; you don’t want the tortilla to burn.
5. Remove from the heat and keep warm while you repeat the process with the second quesadilla. Cut into quarters and serve immediately.

Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

Philly cheese steak quesadillas (1)

One thought on “Philly cheese steak quesadillas

Leave a Reply

