Homemade lamb kebabs

Homemade lamb kebabs

Homemade lamb kebabs 2

It’s not often I eat the same meal two nights in a row. In fact, I enjoy experimenting and trying out recipes so much that I end up making new meals rather that repeating ones I enjoyed. Every so often I remember something I loved and wonder why I haven’t made it again recently… then I’m right back to experimenting.

This was an exception though – I was thrilled to make this again. Eating it two nights in a row was an absolute treat. These homemade kebabs are so delicious and quite quick to make, even with making your own flatbreads. It’s an assembly job, so I’m going to deal with each bit separately.

These instructions will make 4 kebabs – serves 2.

Flatbreads
This isn’t my recipe, it’s from BBC Good Food. They’re called quick flatbreads, and they are definitely speedy.
Take 200g plain flour and 1 quarter teaspoon of salt, and mix in 100ml of water. Add in 2 tablespoons of light oil and knead together for 5 minutes into a dough. You may need to add more flour or water to make a soft dough, but these proportions have worked well for me.
You can cook straight away or leave to rest for 30 minutes. Separate into four equal sized balls. Roll out each ball with a rolling pin on a floured surface. I’m not good at making them circular, but I’m going to pretend I was deliberately going for the rustic look.
To cook, heat a little oil in a frying pan and cook the flatbreads on both sides for 1-2 minutes each. Place on kitchen roll to absorb excess oil until ready to use.

Lamb kebabs (1)

Lamb
-250g very thinly sliced lamb (I use a cut called sukiyaki, which is basically shaved lamb)
– half a red onion, peeled and cut into half moons
– 3 garlic cloves, peeled and thinly sliced
– 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
– 1 teasoon dried oregano
– 1 teaspoon dried thyme
– half a teaspoon celery seeds
– 1 tablespoon Worchestershire sauce

1. Heat a little oil in a frying pan and cook the onion and garlic for 3-4 minutes until softened and turning translucent.
2. Add the lamb and spices to the pan, along with the Worchestershire sauce. Stir well and cook until the lamb is done to your liking. Season with salt and pepper.

Lamb kebabs (4)

Toppings
This is up to you, you can top your kebab with whatever you like. To me, pickles and garlic sauce were non-negotiable, but go with what your tastebuds tell you.

I always have roasted garlic in my freezer, so I could make a roasted garlic mayonnaise in seconds. I took four cloves out of the freezer bag and when they had softened slightly, I mashed them with four tablespoons of mayonnaise and a little salt. That’s it!

I had pickled some cucumbers recently, using this advice from Feasting At Home. They are awesome and so they went on top, along with a sprinkling of parsley.

Lamb kebabs (5)

To assemble, take a warm flatbread, spoon on some of the lamb, then top with pickles and the garlic mayo. Sprinkle over some chopped parsley, wrap up and enjoy.

Follow me on Twitter for more recipes
@about_taste

Pin this!

Leave a Reply

